Arguably the game of the day in the Skrill South league was surely this exciting and thrilling encounter between two of the leagues strongest attacking sides Sutton & Farnborough.

From the first whistle both sides showed their intent to play this game on the front foot attacking at pace at every chance. Both teams had chances to open the scoring but it took until the 32nd minute before the first goal came. Sutton’s Dean McDonald on as an early sub for the injured Damian Scannell crossed low and hard and Dean Sinclair latched onto the cross to stab the ball past keeper Kevin Scriven.

Dan Bennett levelled the score 2 minutes later when a mistake by Sutton’s keeper Tom Lovelock lead to the ball rolling into the path of the midfielder who coolly fired home from six yards out. Five minutes later Scott Donnelly curled in a superb free kick, one that his footballing hero David Beckham would have been proud of.

Farnborough should have extended their lead early in the second half when Bennett was gifted a guilt edge opportunity after a slip by Simon Downer, with just the keeper to beat the winger dallied on the ball allowing Lovelock to make the save. Then on 72 minutes Sutton were handed the chance to level the score after it was judged that Josh Huggins hand handled the ball in the box. The referee waved away all Boro protests and awarded the spot kick which was converted by inform Craig Dundas.

The home side thought they had scored the winner on 84 minutes when  Dale Binns broke clear and his inch prefect cross was smashed home by James Folkes. But such is the spirit in the Boro camp they continued to attack and got a deserved equaliser with just 3 minutes left on the clock. Josh Huggins volleyed home from a Donnelly corner to set up a frantic last few minutes, both teams had chances to pinch a winner but a draw on reflection was possibly a fair result.

Att: 465

Sutton United 

1. Tom Lovelock
2. Paul Telfer
3. Sam Rents
4. Jamie Stuart (C) 
5. Simon Downer
6. Dean Sinclair  (Riviere ON, 60)
7. Damian Scannell (McDonald ON, 23)
8. Ali Fuseini  (Folkes ON, 60)
9. Craig Dundas
10. Dale Binns
11. Marvin Williams

12. Anthony Riviere; 14. Dean McDonald; 15. James Folkes; 16. Mitchell Nelson; 17. Wayne Shaw (gk).


1. Kevin Scriven
2. Josh Huggins
3. Ollie Treacher
4. Tyrone Berry 
5. Adam Doyle
6. Nathan Koo-Boothe
7. Dan Bennett (Jones ON, 90)
8. Steve Laidler (C) 
9. Dave Tarpey (James-Lewis ON, 65 )
10. Elvis Hammond (Connolly ON, 71)
11. Scott Donnelly

12. Reece Connolly; 14. Merrick James-Lewis; 15. Tom McGarry; 16. Reece Jones; 17. Ryan Hope (gk).

Referee: John O’Brian
Assistant Referee’s: Sean Scott & Mike Desborough