‘Boro produced a great attacking performance against Maidenhead United and will never know how they came away from York Road with only a point.

Despite bossing most of the half a creating numerous chances, it was the hosts who went in at the break ahead, Adam Doyle harshly penalised in the closing seconds of the first half of hauling down his man, and Clifton squeezed the resulting penalty under the body of Kevin Scriven.

‘Boro had a strong shout for a penalty for handball turned down just minutes earlier.

Despite opening the second half brightly, Maidenhead doubled the lead on 56 minutes Richard Pacquette slamming home after ‘Boro failed to clear their lines.

Scott Donnelly’s coolly taken penalty on 62 minutes buoyed ‘Boro who had been relentless in their wave of attacks and despite a goal behind it looked as if it was a matter of time before ‘Boro would score again.

A mixture of fine goalkeeping and dogged defending kept ‘Boro at bay until four minutes from the end of normal time, when Harry Lee who impressed throughout slammed an unstoppable drive from outside the area.

With numerous injuries and the home team constantly being picked up on time wasting by the referee 8 minutes of additional time were allocated, and it seemed that it was only a matter of time before ‘Boro got what they deserved, but the hosts held firm and both sides had to settle for a share of the points.

Att: 247

Maidenhead United

1. Elvijs Putnins 
2. Leslie Thompson
3. Shay Khosrowshahi 
4. Mark Nisbet (C)  (Erskine ON, 90+4)
5. Curtis Ujah
6. Matt Ruby 
7. Danny Green 
8. Adrian Clifton 
9. Richard Pacquette 
10. Daniel Brown (Malcolm ON, 90)
11. Reece Tison-Lascaris (Behzadi ON, 62)

Subs: 12. Jacob Erskine; 14. Michael Malcolm; 15. Wadah Ahmidi; 16. Bobby Behzadi; 17. Matt Pegler (gk).


1. Kevin Scriven
2. Josh Huggins
3. Ollie Treacher
4. Scott Donnelly 
5. Alan Inns (C)
6. Adam Doyle 
7. Dan Bennett
8. Steve Laidler 
9. Harry Lee
10. Elvis Hammond
11. Dave Tarpey

Subs: 12. Alfred Bosch; 14. Reece Jones; 15. Liam MacDevitt; 16. Courtney Fearn; 17. Matthew Lovett (gk).

Referee: Ashvin Degnarain
Assistant Referees: Adam Bayliss & Stephen Bates