At a well attended Fans Forum last night (Wednesday), Manager Spencer Day updated supporters of the Playing Squad situation ahead of season 2012-13.

Day reiterated that from last seasons squad, options had been excercised to retain the services of Dan Bennett, and the young trio of Jordan Merriman, Jake Somerville and Callum Cobb.

Following on from the announcement a few weeks ago that Nic Ciardini and Craig Bradshaw had both signed contracts, it was confirmed that from last seasons squad, Adam Bygrave had verbally agreed to terms of re-engagement and the contracts will be signed imminently now the player has returned from holiday and that Steve Laidler,Phil Page and Olly Treacher had all signed contracts committing them to the club.

The squad has been boosted with the signing of experienced Central Defender Alan Inns, who was instrumental in Woking’s Blue Square South Championship winning team, rewarded with the clubs Player of the Year award for his endeavours.

Dave Tarpey was also unveiled, the player joining from Hampton & Richmond Borough, for whom he scored 24 goals last term in a side that was ultimately relegated. Being under 24, the two clubs are in the process of agreeing a compensation fee for the transfer of the player, which ultimately may end up being settled by an FA Tribunal.

Day also confirmed that he had been in discussions with regards to the signing of highly rated defender Dean Inman also from Hampton & Richmond Borough.

The player contacted the club in the belief he was a free agent as he had a relegation clause in his contract, and terms were agreed and a compensatory offer was made to Hampton, in subsequent conversations between the clubs it appears that this was not the case, and therefore the player remains under contract.

The player disputes this position, and until such point that he resolves this issue with his current club, Farnborough will respect the terms of his contract and have ceased discussions.

Many of last seasons squad have already verbally committed to returning to Pre Season which commences on July 3rd, the ‘Boro boss naming Orlando Jeffrey, Marcus Moody and Miles Smith amongst others.